November 8

I’m officially 22. Yeah say it with me TWENTY TWO, it’s very uncomfortable to say it out loud. To be honest this is the first birthday that I’ve had that I actually feel older. I’m not saying I’m an old man but I am willing to admit that this birthday seems a little less special than ones in the past. Sadly after my 21st, birthdays just aren’t as eventful. Yeah at 25 I can rent cars – cool – and then I guess at around 55 I get senior benefits – 3D IMAX for $7 ain’t too shabby – but things are definitely starting to change.

This year also through me for a loop because I’m out of my native land. Being in Europe has been a very different, but I must admit, my birthday here has been one of the best.

For my big 22, my friends and I had a little taste – wink, wink – of the Chianti Classico wine region. We hopped on a van driven by an awesome Italian dude named Mikele, and we explored four areas throughout the region including a winery.

It was interesting going on this trip for us because just last night we had the pleasure of visiting the very famous Brolio Castle and tasted some of the world famous Brolio wines as well. The place was magnificent, the view from the castle’s walkway was tremendous. Unfortunately, we’ve experienced some crazy weather lately, but at just the right moment the clouds broke and we witnessed some of the most beautiful sunbeams I’ve ever seen.

They danced their way over the yellowing grape vineyards below us and up and over all of the rolling hills in the distance. It was very magical. We also had a chance to check out the castle itself and see the armory as well as some other artifacts that belong to the family.

So I was a bit nervous. It was going to be hard to top the Brolio tour. Thankfully, it measured up.

Our first stop was at a very small town named Monteriggioni. The castle here was built solely for defensive purposes by the Republic of Siena. It was built atop the hills in medieval times, in order to give defensive men a view of the incoming Florentine troops.

Our next stop was over to the winery at the rural farm of Poggio Amorelli. The winery is owned by Adriana and Marco Mazzarini and they have only been in business since the late 80’s. Their wine was fantastic, we tried four of them: a very light white, a traditional Chianti Classico DOCG, a Super Tuscan and another red – which I unfortunately forgot the name of – all the wines were delicious. What really got me excited though was the variety of balsamic vinegars and oils we tried. The cool thing about this winery is that they also specialize in producing fantastic truffle oil, olive oil and aged balsamic vinegar. I got to tell you, the balsamic and the olive oil were out of this world. The vinegar was oddly sweet, it reminded me of a tangy, southern influenced BBQ sauce but with more complexity. It was aged for 20 years in the bottle and served atop some fantastic picorino cheese. The oil was another fantastic addition, it needed nothing more than a piece of bread and a dash of herbs for some extra kick.


foto 3 (2)


After our taste bud expedition, we headed to a small area of Castellina Chianti where we enjoyed a delicious lunch with pastas, traditional cold cuts, bread, veggie and – of course – some more wine. Afterwards, we stopped one last time to enjoy the view of the valleys from Radda in Chianti before heading home.

The wine tour was fun, the food and the adventure was well worth the 55 euros spent, but what made today so much more enjoyable was having good friends there to experience it all with me. Although I’m getting older, and I’m not able to spend my birthday with my family, it’s nice to know that I have people here that care about me and know how to put a smile on my face.


P.S. I apologize for my lack of posts lately, I am actually studying here, not just out having a blast –SHOCKER! – and my midterms got the best of me these past couple of weeks. However, I did do some very fun things in between that I will definitely write about soon.

Leave a Reply

